YA Books to Read if You Love Parallel Universes

Home / Books / YA Books to Read if You Love Parallel Universes

Isn’t it strange when you see an idea that seems to invade EVERY new book out? Well, I’ve been seeing several books published last year and set to publish in 2015 that involve parallel universes.

So, if you’re in the mood for this specific science fiction conceit, then this post was written with you in mind!

YA Books to Read if You Love Parallel Universes

young adult books parallel universes


Personally Read & Loved:

Parallel

parallel lauren miller books about parallel universes

What if your past was re-written by a former version of yourself? In Parallel – written by Lauren Miller – that’s exactly what happens to Abby. One minute, she’s in Hollywood, on the set of a movie she’s filming post-high school, and the next morning’s she’s a Yale undergrad. How?!

The title of this post should give you a hint. :) I really enjoyed this story – especially because a seemingly confusing topic was told well and with a conceivable (well as good as any explanation) reason as to why everything is shifting.

Full review HERE.


Trial By Fire

trial by fire josephine angelini parallel universes

Trial by Fire is a fantasy version of a parallel universe, which I great enjoyed! There are two Salems – one where Lily is just a regular high school student, who’s allergic to everything, and one where she’s powerful, strong and full of magic. Only in the second version, Lily meets Lillian, a girl who’s Lily and not at the same time.

This book is the start of a fantastic new series by Josephine Angelini, and I’m excited for the next books.

This book will be published September 2. Full review to come; Find it on Goodreads HERE.


Pivot Point & Split Second

parallel lauren miller books about parallel universes

This series by Kasie West are just THE BEST. The science fiction and fantasy elements are so unique and interesting. Starting off the bat with a paranormal setting, Pivot Point was almost like a character-driven choose your own adventure story. From the description: “Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes.”

And the sequel (it’s a two-book series) is just as fantastic as the first book.

Full review for Pivot Point HERE and Split Second HERE.


Other Options:

I have not read these books yet, but based on the reviews and descriptions, they sound like great alternate options for parallel universe interests.

Dissonance

dissonance erica o'rourke parallel universes young adult fiction

On Goodreads HERE.

Description: “Delancy Sullivan has always known there’s more to reality than what people see. Every time someone makes a choice, a new, parallel world branches off from the existing one. Eating breakfast or skipping it, turning left instead of right, sneaking out instead of staying in bed ~ all of these choices create an alternate universe in which an echo self takes the road not travelled and makes the opposite decision. As a Walker, someone who can navigate between these worlds, Del’s job is to keep all of the dimensions in harmony.

Normally, Del can hear the dissonant frequency that each world emits as clear as a bell. But when a training session in an off-key world goes horribly wrong, she is forbidden from Walking by the Council. But Del’s not big on following the rules and she secretly starts to investigate these other worlds. Something strange is connecting them and it’s not just her random encounters with echo versions of the guy she likes, Simon Lane.

But Del’s decisions have unimaginable consequences and, as she begins to fall for the Echo Simons in each world, she draws closer to a truth that the Council of Walkers is trying to hide ~ a secret that threatens the fate of the entire multiverse.”


Relativity

cristin bishara relativity parallel universes young adult fiction

On Goodreads HERE.

Description: “There are so many moments Ruby Wright wishes she could change. The moment her dad uprooted her from California to live in backwoods Ohio with their new stepfamily. The moment she moved away without telling her best friend George she loved him. The moment a car accident ended her mother’s life.

But no one can rewrite time. At least, that’s what physics-obsessed Ruby believes.

Then she stumbles upon a lightning-powered tree—a doorway to a series of parallel universes. How many possible worlds will Ruby have to explore to find the one with the perfect combination of people, relationships, and experiences? And is she willing to risk everything she has to get back what she has lost?

With a deft blend of science and heart, Cristin Bishara’s thought-provoking debut novel explored the laws of time and space…and the even more mysterious nature of love and loss.”


Tandem

anna jarzab tandem parallel universes young adult fiction

On Goodreads HERE.

Description: “Everything repeats.
You. Your best friend. Every person you know.
Many worlds. Many lives–infinite possibilities.
Welcome to the multiverse.

Sixteen-year-old Sasha Lawson has only ever known one small, ordinary life. When she was young, she loved her grandfather’s stories of parallel worlds inhabited by girls who looked like her but led totally different lives. Sasha never believed such worlds were real–until now, when she finds herself thrust into one against her will.

To prevent imminent war, Sasha must slip into the life of an alternate version of herself, a princess who has vanished on the eve of her arranged marriage. If Sasha succeeds in fooling everyone, she will be returned home; if she fails, she’ll be trapped in another girl’s life forever. As time runs out, Sasha finds herself torn between two worlds, two lives, and two young men vying for her love–one who knows her secret, and one who thinks she’s someone she’s not.”


Undercurrent

undercurrent paul blackwell parallel universes young adult fiction

On Goodreads HERE.

Description: “In this suspenseful teen thriller with a touch of the otherworldly, a boy goes over a waterfall and wakes up to find himself in a twisted version of the life he knew. Why did his best friend try to kill him? Why are his parents acting like he’s a sports star all of a sudden? Worst of all, what happened to his older brother? Filled with mind-bending suspense and unsettling thrills, Undercurrent is a grippingly paced teen debut that will pull you under and never let go.”


Dualed

dualed elsie chapman parallel universes young adult fiction

On Goodreads HERE.

Description: “In the city of Kersh, everyone must eliminate their genetic Alternate twin, raised by another family, before their twentieth birthday. West Grayer, 15, has trained as a fighter, and has one month to hunt and kill her Alt. A tragic misstep shakes her confidence. Guilty, grieving, she feels unworthy, runs from her Alt and from love – both can destroy her.”


Have you seen this topic trend in other areas? Which of these parallel universe YA books appeal to you?

Lisa Parkin
Lisa Parkin
Lisa is the founder of Uppercase Box, the first young adult subscription box for avid readers. She also blogs about YA books on her blog, Read.Breathe.Relax.
Recommended Posts
Comments
  • aidynlevin@gmail.com

    Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Leave a Comment